About

Setless Architecture is a small architecture office specializing in custom modern homes.

Setless is a made up word, intended as the opposite of ‘set’. The name is intended to conjure a sense of resistance to norms and a resistance to stasis. In practice, the firm seeks to re-imagine plan, form and utility and provide innovative design solutions for its clients.

We are currently seeking applications from graduates of professional degrees with 2-3 years of working experience. Please submit applications to Vanya (listed below). Please do not submit applications to other employees. We request no unsolicited phone calls and thank you for your understanding. For more details, please check out our posting on the Ontario Architects’ Association employment opportunities page.

 
Mike-01.png

Michael Lafrenière
Principal Architect

OAA, RAIC
michael@setless.com

Michael Lafrenière founded Setless Architecture in 2010, and is a registered architect as well as a member of the RAIC. He has been working in the industry for about fifteen years.

Michael completed his studies at The Cooper Union for The Advancement of Science and Art in New York city where he served as a guest juror. Prior to that, he studied at Parsons School of Design and OCAD University.

 
Matt-01.png

Matt Lafrenière

 
matt@setless.com

SarahGilmore-01-01-01.png

Sarah Gilmore

M.Arch Professional, B.Sc.Arch
gilmore@setless.com

Emily-01-01.png

Emily Guo

M.Arch Professional, B.A.S. Honours
emily@setless.com 

EmilyRoss-01.png

Emily Ross

M.Arch Professional, H.B.A.
ross@setless.com 

UMB011.png

Vanya Hargreeves

Please send employment inquiries my way.
vanya.hargreeves@setless.com